I Value Simple Shapes :)

20120720-123157.jpg

Always learning!! Always learning! Always learning!!
It’s nice to be home and back painting outside with my fav pals Don Don and Tim. We call ourselves The Cody’s, which is dorky at best, but it makes us laugh, which is all that really matters πŸ™‚

Anyhooo, the premise I am working with these days is to SIMPLIFY!!!!
Using only 3-4 values, I am exploring shape and pattern-making in a new way.
BREAK IT DOWN SISTA!!
It’s a new puzzle for me and I love the way you can connect the darks and lights. It gives you a more freedom to place things in a way that makes your eyes want to happily flow and play along.
Its a great game, simple picture making, and even though I am temped to play with color, cause, well, it’s color and there is nothing better, I am going to continue working on strengthening my design and composition skills, so when it’s time to hang some luscious color on those shapes, I will hopefully have a great lookin structure to work with.
That’s the plan.
So, the word for the day..SIMPLIFY!!!
Yay!
XOXOXOXOXOXO

20120720-123227.jpg

2 responses to “I Value Simple Shapes :)

  1. This has been an obsession of mine for the past year or so. Recently I have gotten even more interested in starting my paintings with a base colour that will weight the entire piece toward a mood. Colour and shape, that’s what it’s all about at the core!

    • Yes!! I agree! Great idea to tone the canvas first! Its so nice to see that underlying color peek thru. Sometimes it seems to hold the whole painting together. πŸ™‚
      Happy painting.

Leave a Reply

